Skip to main content
Lumberton Public Library

Advisory Board

The Library Advisory Board

The Lumberton Public Library Advisory Board consists of seven (7) members who the Lumberton City Council appoints for a term of two (2) years.  The Board has three (3) officer positions: Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Secretary.  The officers are elected for one (1) year terms by the membership of the board.  The Board members act in an advisory capacity to the City Council in various matters about the Lumberton Public Library.

The current board members are:

  1. Linda Surratt, Chairman
  2. Joleen Hernandez, Vice Chairman
  3. Sharon Forret
  4. Barbara Murphy
  5. Carol Dumatrait
  6. Dr. Betty Iles
  7. George Talbert

The Director of the Lumberton Public Library is also an ex-officio (non-voting) member of the Library Board. 

Membership Inquiries

Library board members are volunteers of the community, and anyone interested in becoming a member of the board should contact the Library Director at 409.755.7400 ext. 113.